Chip Shot or Pitch Shot – What’s the Difference? And This Week’s Practice Routine

So i did I little viewing and a little reading today. There are some bountiful things about All Things Internet – especially when it comes to golfing because there is a lot available. I was looking for some direct instruction on how to set up and practice my chip shot at home. I have a decent length in the front yard even if an occasional errant ball might bounce into my neighbor’s driveways.

So – I figured out a routine to chip into a chip net that’s only 19, 15, 20, 25, 30 yards away as good muscle mapping for bump and runs and stuff but as i tooled around the net i found an answer to something I always wondered – what’s the difference between a chip shot and a pitch shot. I’ve heard different instructors talk about the length of time the ball stays in the air and how long it flies or carries but never anything definitive until today. This is what makes the most sense to me according to one of the youtube videos i found.

A pitch shot spend more time in the air then it rolls on the ground afterwards and is usually a higher arching shot designed to drop a ball close to a target with only some roll. the mental vision should be one of a tall upside down bouncing U with a few baby u’s spilling over until it stops. So the general rule is the pitch shot flies in the air much more than it rolls on the ground. In contrast the chip shot ‘carries’ in the air, on a much lower trajectory – often just to carry over some tall fringe grass, for a much shorter period of time than it rolls. So envision a stretched slinky upside down U that hits the ground and rolls for a long period of time.

That makes sense. One is for parachuting the ball to an exact spot and the other is for bowling to a far away spot.

I’ve decided to practice my chip shot to protect against the house and cars on the street. What i should do is practice with nerf golf balls – really.

Key pointers: Bring feet closer together. depending on who you talk to you need to either move your feet or turn your stance to 11am – meaning you need to turn 1 clock hand away from your target line with you set-up feet line (toe-to-toe). Likewise (only some people say this) – you should angle your club face so it’s turn open to 1 oclock if the target line was 12. But a different version of this is to take your normal stance – bring your feet together to restrict lower body motion and (don’t turn your entire stance but) nudge your left foot back by an inch and point your right foot’s big toe towards the ball. I think this helps make the barreled chest swing that’s required to turn through the ball and keep the club handle ahead of the club head which is the key to getting the ball up in the air with NO wrist motion. AGain, the pendulum swing of the shoulders matters way more than anything else. Staring at the back point of the ball and keeping the left arm straight is key but also its good to think about pulling the left hand through and around your left hip. It almost feel like a hockey slap shot even though I never played hockey.
But the key for me is 2 things – bringing my feet together and making some sort of adjustment with my left foot (drag it back or turn both feet out to the left so my feet line points to 11 o’clock).

I will review some of the videos and post the best one’s later this week. My goal is to see if I can hit 3 balls into the chip net in a row by next Sunday.

I also put in a few inquiries for a few Ping black dot clubs. I’ve gotta get moving on this. But it was a good learning week.

Toddles.

Leave a Reply

