Stardate: Monday 10132014 1207pm – Weekly Routine & WE ARE Golf

Routines require discipline so they aren’t the easiest things to establish.

Week #1 was good.  Week 2 OK.  I got my 2 days of putting practice doing the 4 quarters of-the-hole thing where i try to identify the 12 o’clock hour on the hole (based on location and pull of the cup) and then try to hit from 3 trajectories within the NW, NE, SW, SE quadrant from about 3-5 feet.  I only count how many i get in and then write a few notes on how i did on speed and overshooting based on the quadrant and the stimp reading (my informal notes on how fast or slow the greens are).

Putting Hole Clock face based on N-S fault line

Putting Hole Clock face based on N-S fault line

I seem to do better from the NE and SE quadrants.  And uphill putts are always easier.  Left-to-right I really miss-judge speed from the NW and SW quadrants.  Plus I need to re-work my 1-2 tempo instead of trying to moderate the speed of my stroke (which I understand is an amateur mistake).  Instead I need to learn how to shorten or lengthen my stroke and stay on consistent tempo (more like shorten).

I did not run last week but I ran today – 2 miles.

Plus – although I didn’t do any video homework (and i sorta disagree/agree with other bloggers who think video learning can be harmful)… I did go back to reading the 5 Fundamentals by our legend Hogan.  It’s amazing how much good stuff is in there and how I am still not executing on all 5 fundamentals even though I’ve read the book a few times.  So worth another read is my thinking.  I should probably review it every quarter.

more putting clock face diagrams

more putting clock face diagrams

Also – here’s a good Golf Ready website / twittable thing for all of us die-hards looking to pave a way for future golf students.

The First Tee should target middle aged men

The First Tee should target middle aged men

To the bat cave!!!

https://twitter.com/wearegolf    And click on this photo (above) to go to Golf Digest to read an article on how to roll better putts.

Leave a Reply

