Song List: Sunday – Time Outta Mind

Had a decent day yesterday.  Went to the range with my PW and 7-iron.  Perfect crisp 70 degrees clear blue sky.  Just butter!

It's a wonderful day in the neighborhood

It’s a wonderful day in the neighborhood

Took time to stretch – including my fingers and wrists.  With a bucket of 40 balls I’d say 50% had good flight path and fell within a respectable margin of target.  Another 15% were tugged left but hit far and straight.  Another 15% fade/sliced right.  A couple just shanked to the extreme right.  And a good 5-8% were like dead on.  Not too shabby.  I’ll take it for having just introduced a new swing adjustment.  Here’s a quick pass at the gory details for learning’s sake… thinking about it I did a lot better when I finally established the pre-swing routine and when I took less of a backswing but tried to focus on keeping my right elbow close to my right hip, focused on a full follow-thru AND trying to keep my left hand on or inside a line across my toes during the backswing.  I know, that last one sounds weird but that’s my attempt at trying to think my body to swinging inside-out.

What else did I do?

I made sure to swing thru and hold my finish until the ball landed.  I also followed GratefulG’s routine of starting to go thru a routine for each or almost each swing……

  1. stepping back,
  2. finding my line,
  3. finding a very precise target
  4. and then walking up and placing my clubbed down the line with my right hand and my feet together facing the target.

Then I move my left foot over until my left heel lines up with the golf ball and I step back with my right foot until I feel planted.

I was kinda making it up at first but then I got a rhythm going.  If it’s putting I can tell you I’ve got a real good routine for that since that’s much of what I practiced on this winter – but I decided I should try and make one up for irons.  So after set-up, I borrowed from my putting routine – I just stepped back to a parallel line and did 1-2-3 (sometimes 4-5) easy mini swings just to get a feel for when the leading edge would sweep the practice mat.  When I got it close to my left heel without chunking or digging but just swishy – usually that happens in the 1st or 2nd practice if I really just swing like it didn’t matter – I would step back up take one more gaze at my target and then swing with full intent to turn and hold a full finish.  I Don’t know – but it felt good towards the end of the bucket when my consistency started to dial-up.

Steely Dan - Gaucho

Steely Dan – Gaucho

And then – I went home – all jazzed at what I thought was respectable practicing session and ended up practicing my chip shot in the front yard with this new sturdy practice mat.  Work is still crazy but I’m happy I forced myself to get back into practice after a couple weeks off.

And here’s a song list of stuff I was listening to – just for grins…..

  • Time Out of Mind by Steely Dan on Gaucho
  • Sky High by Donald Byrd on Black Byrd
  • I.G.Y. by Donald Fagan on The Nightfly
  • Satellite by Günter on Ganging Up
  • Who Makes Your Money by Spoon on Transference

    Donald-Byrd-Black-Byrd

    Donald Byrd

  • Static Society by King Kooba on OM10 A Decade of Future Music
  • Optimistic by Tom Middleton on Lifetracks
  • III Street Blues by Moonrock on Café Del Mar Volume Series

00.+Tom+Middleton+-+Lifetracks+[FACTOR+19]_a

Spoon

Spoon

2 thoughts on “Song List: Sunday – Time Outta Mind

Leave a Reply

