Safeway Open -Just my luck

Figures – this is the first year in a while that I didn’t volunteer for the Fry’s.com Open now sponsored by and called the Safeway Open. And this is the year Tiger comes back. How cool would it have been to track balls off the tee while standing in the fairway and sending the GPS coordinates back to the broadcast booth – probably one of my favorite jobs as a volunteer- it can get crazy sometimes when the register doesn’t have the players’ clothing colors correct or caddie bibs are miss matched etc. so it’s hard to tell who is who using binoculars and getting your measurements in on time before they take their second shot….Still it’s a blast and you get to work in pairs and share your love of golf stories with another amateur.

But that was literally the last time I spent anytime focusing on golf – almost one full year ago – and since then I’ve been heads down at a new Silicon Valley gig marketing yet another Cloud technology-as-a-Service. I can’t complain – even in this very warm Valley economy having a gig is a blessing. Clearly I’ve had little time to do anything else let alone fulfill many of my golfing new year’s goals. But actually I did fulfill going back and signing up for lessons with an instructor and getting in a few practice rounds. And I got a new Titliest pitching wedge 56 degree Vokey. But I never played an amateur tournament. I’ll need to carry that over to next year although I still have 2 months left. Still I’m happy to see the tournament underway. And I’m getting ready to get serious again about my golf game. I can’t look backwards. I need to figure out a way to work hard and still improve my golf game. I think I need to embrace the term “baby steps.”

 

